Member Guide to 2015 Scholarships and Awards

Posted by

By AHRA Staff 

AHRA Scholarships encourage continuous learning and professional growth. AHRA Awards recognize professional dexterity and personal achievement. Throughout the year opportunities to apply for scholarship assistance or to recognize your peers’ accomplishments will arise. Use this guide to navigate through 2015’s opportunities and take full advantage of this member benefit.



The CRA Exam Scholarship: provides opportunities for AHRA members who might not otherwise be able to afford the registration fees associated with the test to take the CRA exam.

  • May 2015 CRA Exam (1 first-time tester, 1 retake)
  • November 2015 CRA Exam (1 first-time test taker, 1 retake)

Applications for the May 2015 exam scholarships are due February 2, 2015.


Osborn Scholarships: provide scholarship support for AHRA members to participate in AHRA conferences:

The Osborn Scholarship Fund was created in memory of Royce R. Osborn, FAHRA, one of the first radiology technologists to make the transition to radiology administrator.

Spring Conference Osborn Scholarship applications  are due January 26, 2015. 


Broadley Scholarship:  provides scholarship support to members enrolled in undergraduate or graduate degree programs relevant to a management career in a medical imaging field.

The Broadley Scholarship Program was established to honor Louise Broadley, FAHRA, a long-time leader of AHRA.

Completed Broadley Scholarship applications are due June 15, 2015. 


Annual Meeting Scholarship: provides scholarship support to members who historically have participated in the AHRA Annual Meeting and due to employer cuts to travel and/or education budgets are no longer able to attend.

The 2015 AHRA Annual Meeting Scholarship is funded through support by our corporate partners Agfa, Hitachi, Philips, and Siemens.

Annual Meeting Scholarship applications are due May 18, 2015.


AHRA & Toshiba Putting Patients First Grant: generously sponsored by Toshiba provides grants to hospitals and imaging centers to fund programs, training or seminars aimed at improving pediatric or adult patient care and safety within diagnostic imaging.

Application available August 2015; deadline to submit applications October 12, 2015.




Gold Award: the highest honor AHRA can bestow upon one of its members. The award is given to an AHRA member who has made significant contributions to the association and, thus, to the profession of imaging and healthcare administration.

Nominations for the Gold Award come from the membership and any member may nominate a candidate. All active members of AHRA are eligible to be considered for the award.

Further reading in Link: What Winning the Gold Award Means

Gold Award applications are due March 16, 2015.


Award for Excellence: recognizes five medical imaging professionals for excellence and leadership.

Nominations can come from staff, as well as other colleagues in the workplace and industry. It is not necessary to me a member to nominate someone for the award.  All active members of AHRA are eligible to be considered for the award.

Further reading in Link: Recognizing the Pursuit of Excellence

Award for Excellence nominations are due April 13, 2015.


Fellow Designation: recognizes the significant contributions of AHRA members to the industry and our professional association

Fellow designation is presented at the AHRA Annual Meeting & Exposition and Fellows receive the privilege of adding the initials FAHRA after their names.

Completed Fellows applications are due May 11, 2015.

Post a Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s